D2L Brightspace: Remove/Hide D2L Brightspace Courses with Inactivation

Question

I am not using all my D2L Brightspace courses - what can I do? How do I remove courses I am not using so students don't see them?

Overview

Instructors can inactivate and remove D2L Brightspace courses with a few clicks using the Brightspace Courses self-service tool. An inactive course is hidden and not accessible to both Students and Instructors.

Note: If you want to restrict Student access to a course, change the Course Admin > Course Offering Information > Start and End dates. This will keep the course visible to Students and does not allow them to click into the course outside those dates.

To inactivate/remove a course:

  1. Navigate to the D2L Brightspace homepage.
  2. Click the Merge/Group/Remove Course Request in the Instructor Resources navbar menu or in the Instructor Resources widget. Screen Shot of the Instructor Resources navbar menu underlined in orange and an orange square drawn around the Merge/Group/Remove Course Request option to make it stand out or Screen Shot of the Instructor Resources widget with an orange square drawn around the Group/Merge Courses tile to make it stand out

2.a. If prompted, log in with your MavMail credentials.

2.b. If prompted, click the Allow button to grant permission to use SharePoint with your account.

Screen Shot of log in to self-service tool indicating to click the Allow button to grant permission to the app to use SharePoint with your account

2.c. If prompted, click the Fix the Connection link to Share Point.

3. Click the My Courses button.

Screen Shot of clicking on My Courses button in self-service tool

4. Check the box to select the sections you wish to remove/inactivate.

5. Click the Remove from D2L button at the bottom of the page.

Screen Shot of self-service tool with sections selected with a check box and the Remove from D2L button outlined in orange to make it stand out

6. Confirm the details of the removal.

7. Type delete into the text box, then click the Remove button at the bottom of the screen. Your request will process automatically, you'll receive an email notification when the removal is complete (typically within minutes).

Screen Shot of Remove Course screen with delete typed into the confirm text box adn the remove from D2L button outlined in orange

Find even more helpful how to steps to remove/inactivate and restore courses in this guide to using the Self-Service tool.

 

Details

Article ID: 133
Created
Tue 2/15/22 9:58 AM
Modified
Fri 3/25/22 9:17 AM