D2L Brightspace: Request merged/grouped courses

Question

How do I add my classes to D2L Brightspace? How do I group multiple sections into one course? How do I combine my 400 and 500 level courses together in D2L Brightspace?

Overview

Courses are automatically added as individual courses to D2L Brightspace as they become listed in our Registration system - log in to D2L Brightspace to find your individual course.

To merge/group two or more courses into one course, use the Brightspace courses self-service tool:

1. Navigate to the D2L Brightspace homepage.

2. Click Merge/Group/Remove Courses in the Instructor Resources menu in the navbar or in the Instructor Resources widget.

Screen Shot of the Instructor Resources navbar menu underlined in orange and an orange square drawn around the Merge/Group/Remove Course Request option to make it stand out -or- Screen Shot of the Instructor Resources widget with an orange square drawn around the Group/Merge Courses tile to make it stand out

2.a. If prompted, log in with your MavMail credentials.

2.b. If prompted, click the Allow button to grant permission to use SharePoint with your account.

Screen Shot of log in to self-service tool indicating to click the Allow button to grant permission to the app to use SharePoint with your account

2.c. If prompted, click the Fix the Connection link to Share Point.

3. Click the My Courses button.

Screen Shot of clicking on My Courses button in self-service tool

4. Check the box to select the sections you wish to merge together.

5. Click the Combine button at the bottom of the page.

Screen Shot of My Courses section search with a check box selected for two course sections and the combine button at the bottom of the page

6. Confirm the details of the course merge.

6.a. The section listed first is the primary ‘base’ course. Any course materials in the base course will be copied automatically into the new, merged course.

6.b. Click the pin icon next to any section to select a new base course. You will see the course move to the top of the list after you click the pin.

7. Type merge into the text box, then click the Merge button at the bottom of the screen. Your request will process automatically, you'll receive an email notification when the merge is complete (typically within minutes).

Screen shot of self-service tool, the confirmation page for a course merge displays fours courses and the merge textbox and merge course button at the bottom of the screen

Find even more helpful how to steps to update merged courses in this guide to using the Self-Service tool.

 

Details

Article ID: 304
Created
Wed 3/9/22 2:07 PM
Modified
Thu 7/28/22 11:47 AM